A recap on my old canceled fangame project, Five Night's at Nick's

.Hello internet, if you are reading this, you may have been linked here from Gamejolt, if not, you found this page here some different reason otherwise. Nonetheless, I decided I think I needed to make a recap talking about my canceled project. Mainly why I thought this was necessary was because I think I need a ultimate written down version of everything about the history of this game and it's current presence today. I feel since I now have my personal space here (Neocities), I can fully express everything I write in my own fashion without being meddled or limited by the social media's automated system of posting, what ever if it's character limit (Gamejolt) or just having a uncomfortable experience with the overly corporate interface (Wiki Fandom, DeviantArt, etc). Although yes it quite a weird choice to make news on the internet on a place like this and is appalling when reading this through it's old 2000's web interface, I don't think it should really be that big of an issue as long as I'm making this readable in good quality and give proper source, credit, transparency to this post your about to read.

So as I stated previously, you may have found this page linked from Gamejolt or Wiki Fandom (Fnan wiki). So I may target certain people in this post that may be you the one reading this. However, if you found all this writing so far out of context, you may stumbled upon it from accessing my website upon Neocities, if you so, I say welcome, and if your interesting on what your reading so far, you should check out the rest of the website, there should be a "blue spinning back button" on the top left of the page, if not alternately you can edit the link to go to the original index of the domain, or just click here.

Basically the context of what this is, is about a fangame that takes Nickelodeon cartoon characters (such as SpongeBob SquarePants) that are haunted mascot suits that are based of the idea of haunted suits from Five Nights at Treasure Island, being based off the idea of Abandoned by Disney, which is also at the same time being a fnaf fangame of the Five Nights at Freddy's franchise, which ties upon this whole inspiration of the game Five Nights at Nick's. Yea, a fangame inspiring another fangame that ties to the original IP, a whole rabbit hole of explaining but if you REALLY don't have any clue what I'm talking about you can click on all the words that are colored yellow.

How it first started

So as you may know it, I was a huge fan on Five Nights at Freddy's back then around 2016/2018. One of the core features that makes the franchise great is the fanbase. Many people have hopped into the community to make their own fangames. One of those fangames that is my favorite that pretty much become a entire genre and culture of it's self is Five Nights at Treasure Island, which pretty become an extension of the fnaf fangame space and instead of utilizing elements such as spooky haunted animatronics by the dead children, is instead being haunted mascot suits being caused by some god on an abandon island. Fun fact, Fnati is notably one of very first fnaf fangames dating back 2014 which is the same fnaf was released back in August 8th. It's amazing how talented and wild such a community that was spawned all because of what Scott Cawthon created, there is literally no fan community like it, which eventually spread to new indie horror games that became a viral trend in the future, completely reshaping the new entire way new fan communities are formed and work on the internet and society itself.

Now after a lot of the blabbing, how did I came up with Five Night's at Nick's? Well, since I was a major fan of fnati and since it was my favorite fnaf fangame, I easily drew parallels to the Disney theme to Nickelodeon. They both have very close similarities to each other and I will list them down based off their horror potential traits from the community.

.I could probably list more but you get the jizz, basically Disney and Nickelodeon have the same community side effects that are integrated into horror in some ways. This made a strong potential since I could take inspiration of fnati and make my own spin of it of instead of being Disney/Discovery Island, it's Nickelodeon.

Developing the project

So this all started back in 2018 when I started work on the project. One of the things I did before attempting to model stuff and making the game in Clickteam, I thought of making a Nickelodeon version of Abandoned by Disney. Now this sounds cool of a concept but remember that I was 14 at the time of working on this project, and my perception of writing things and spelling of things was terrible and I unfortunately became subject to making a shitty cringey creepypasta that was just bad like any other creepypasta is just perceived to be. Unfortunately, I don't have a full original version creepypasta I wrote, and a half portion of it is unwritten, my memory is blurry but either stopped working on it or I copy and pasted half of what I wrote. Why copy and pasting? because I originally wrote it on a wiki that was ENTIERLY made for that page article, I was stupid of thinking I was gonna create a new page but I ended creating a entirely new wiki. Now what you may ask at this point, what was the creepypasta called, well... it was just called "Abandoned by Nickelodeon", it pretty much was a cheap rip-off of the Abandon by Disney creepypasta by Slimebeast. It really was not original, although it was written very differently it pretty much as the same presence of the plot, some guy researching and going a abandoned attraction and finding a creepy suits that takes a part of a body off.

If you are further interesting in this fiasco, I have a public doc of the what I have written (so far of what I had) beware of reading actual cringe, no one would have token seriously and would have assumed it's a trollpasta. And as of writing this, I would appreciate it if you find the original wiki where I wrote the article (if it still exists), the wiki is named "Abandoned by Nickelodeon" obviously.

half-written doc: Abandoned by Nickelodeon

So while the creepypasta was not successful. I did continue on with the project with such as modeling with blender and using the various ripped models of Nickelodeon properties. Finding various sounds and textures for assets, all that good stuff of making a fangame with small indie effort. I eventually started making the game in clickteam fusion. However all of this had gone through the span 2 years, April 2018 to July of 2019, and than after that, everything stopped, any development of the game had completely haltered, and it's all thanks to many reasons that really discouraged me from wanting to continue on forward.

But before I really lap on how it depressing it is I will least give a list of reasons why I stopped on the project ranging at the top the most reason to the last being the least and probably just a excuse that really was not the main issue.

The reasons why it never came to fruition

  1. My fear of copywrite and DMCA: One of the moral things that really hit me with reality that really made me sad and also pissed off, was the fact that fangames were not protected under copywrite law. This means, if a company that owns a IP that is being used in a fangame, (In this instance, Nickelodeon) they have the ultimate right to take it down. There is not legal loophole or way to get out of it, if a company hosting the game that can be downloaded like Gamejolt is issued a takedown request by the IP holder, they HAVE to take it down, or else it will get them into legal trouble (such as a lawsuit) which obviously 100% of the time the service that have the game published and hosted for anyone to download will have to be taken it down, unfortunately, there's nothing they can do about and have to do it as commanded by law. Now it may not really be that much of a concern, Disney had no issue since they never really threaten the fnati community, nor does Scott, (The creator fnaf) but not all companies are like this, and the company that owns Nickelodeon and SpongeBob is Paramount, (previously known as Viacom) and based of my witness of there aggressive actions back in 2020 and the world of companies like Nintendo, I really just did not want to get into any territory or situation, to put all my effort into a project just for it to get taken down. This also further changed my plans other projects I was working on or want to pursue in the future. One interesting tip bit is that another failed project I was trying to work on was a Super Mario fangame, yea you know that would have gone south if I went into it further.

  2. My failure at building a project properly: So when you first make a project, you have to lay something down, you have to have blueprints, writing, concept art, all the things that what making a project successful that worked for humans for the test of time. But when it to comes the indie age of gaming on the internet you are figured to a much smaller degree and you are pretty much working on a project by yourself or have some people helping with you. Regardless, you are a small team, and one of the things that was unique about fnaf fangames is that people like Scott Cawthon literally made the entire fnaf quadrilogy (possibly even future games like Sister Location) in record speed time, each game only taking just a few months that took modeling and coding all just in that small amount of time, not only that having at least good writing when it comes to the supposed lore that Scott was trying to develop for the franchise as he took feedback from his fanbase. Scott did this for up to 6 years until his retirement and I don't even think he did this with any good amount of time and thought of concept art and the development of mechanics of games, and this case he just zoomed as he went and it would be able to make games at good quality as any other game like Slenderman (a game two years before fnaf) that was made by somebody who took many months to make such a game. Now, you may argue that Slenderman is more complex in coding and game design since the game is 3d but the point I'm getting here is that Scott could make a iconic game that became viral in little to no span of short time span. He is so good that I'm pretty sure he actually got a reward for the Guinness Book records for fastest indie game developer. Now I think I written to far more text than I should of have, but the basic premise I'm explaining this as that I adore Scott and his work, I was fan of his million dollar horror franchise that he created and just like any fangame maker in the fandom, I wanted to be like him, I wanted to create my own fnaf using the format of fnati fanbase, he inspired me want to make games, and in Scotts eyes that makes him glow with joy, since Scott has admitted himself in Dawko's Interview with Scott video that if his own work of making video games had inspired of other people in his fanbase then it makes happy and pride of joy as he is proud of work since it really did meant something in world after all after all the failures he had with making games with Clickteam.

    Now the main issue when it comes to me making videos games is what I mention at the begging of this bullet list for 2., is that you need to plan everything before you start making. I unfortunately did not take that liberty since like I said I was 14/15 years of age at the time and I really did not have the logistics on how things were made. I easily dived into just making the models and blender and straight out just coding in the game in Clickteam before I even finished all the assets. I went into making this game into different steps of a projects development at my choice and pace which really was just unprofessional. I didn't even had things planned out and I was just freely making wiki fan pages on fnati fan wikis about how the characters would act in the game but the game wasn't even a thing yet so all this info is fake and leads to no evidence of being true. Which is a common thing you do with fan oc pages on fan wikis since it's meant for that but for something that is like a passion project meant to actually be something, it wasn't really token seriously in development of the project.

  3. Lack of motivation and skill: Now while I failed at building a project the right way, I also did not really have the skill or eager to put my daily life full time into working on a computer and doing things that are tasked, in fact I still have this issue and is the main reason why I stopped having the motivation to work on new things. This issue sort of ties into 2. but it separated it into it's own thing. You see, I didn't really had a good computer to work with the stuff I was using to develop the stuff on my computer, it wasn't really that powerful because it was not a gaming pc. Although making stuff such as modeling and using Clickteam was barrable, I still had the issue of knowing how to use the tools. I really am not a good modeler and while I may know more better knowledge at Blender today and seek tutorials I still will suck at it only because of the constant dis-motivated issue to pursing activities on my pc and trying to get better at harnessing those abilities of doing various stuff in Blender (such as Retopology). Coding in the other while it may be extremely easier with Clickteam, would be a understatement that I was ever good at it, I never was good at coding and I would only be able to code the most simplest things (eg. Opeing doors, buttons, etc).

  4. Would it even worth it if it was finished?: Now this may contrast to modern times in indie horror and the current state and stance of modern fnaf fangames and fnati as well, but to be honest, it's the same type of content, I honestly have a fatigue in the fnaf fandom and when it comes to fangames, the same content and point and click gameplay. Even if all previous reasons were contradicted, what impact would it even have if the game released in it's final form. How would the gameplay and story be anything unique compared to fnati? In reality, when putting Nickelodeon in parallels to Disney and the content in the horror fanbase, there really is not enough substance to sustain what it got comparison to inspiration. Sure they have the three parallels I made with having abandoned attraction, the squidward's suicide creepypasta, but like the story on how Nickelodeon Studioes shut down was way different when being conceived in the fandom, there was really no horror aspect to the studio being abandoned compared to a broken down island in the middle of a giant lake, heck, there is no real creepypasta the project was based off of. In fact, the studio on Orlando was bought out and rebranded as Blue Man Group and was never even abandoned which removes the horror aspect of being possible and believable. The story would be fucked since there's no logical reason a protagonist would be the night guard at the studio if the place would eventually be bought only a few years later and never truly abandoned.

    So what even if we ignore all these things? Even if we say fuck it, it's in alternate reality where Nickelodeon Studios is truly abandoned, well... we still have to worry about what the younger me at the time would be adding for the content for this game, the characters, mechanics, locations, etc. Well let's just the say, the characters are shit, Slimebob may be a creative decision going with the horrors of the Slime parallel to Yellow Chunky blood from fnati. But the others characters are just half-baked, SpongeBob is just eyeless with blood flooding out (Oooh, how creepy) just feels really cheesy. Other characters looks almost the same how they look. And some are blatantly ripping off instead of taking inspiration, such as Photo-negative Patrick. Really cheesy and uncreative characters that would really not sell a game to it's audience and having trust and belief that this is supposed to be a serious project. I think the only characters that were actually creative is Slimebob and Suicide Squidward, I may even count Jimmy Neutron since he is not another spongebob character. Also, speaking with another thing why this game would not really be that good, the variety in the Nickelodeon characters. You see I mainly picked SpongeBob was because obviously he is the main starring mascot of Nickelodeon, and considering that gets more better quality games where you can mainly get all the cast members from the show, but I still wanted to have other characters that studio also owns. But see, considering the fact all the characters were ripped from various video games, due to nickelodeon having a lot of their characters come from old cheap shovelware games from the 2000's, the models were staggered in quality when it comes to poly count and textures so much that it makes it hard for them to look at when trying to appear in a HD game in 2019 or whatever year it could have been finished. Some at least most were not even rigged since most came in "obj." format so the only decision I could make it scrap the character entirely since I have said previously stated in 3. that I have no skill in stuff like rigging so I couldn't really do much with the models due to the types of people responsible for ripping models and uploading it to The Models Resource. It's really different compared to Disney since most of the models in fnati were ripped from the Kingdom Hearts franchise, which are games at staggeringly more better quality and model design since there attended for real gamers and not baby stuff like shovelware that Nickelodeon has pumped out with whatever games they had other than SpongeBob. SpongeBob had good quality models because Nickelodeon, actually put him in the center of attention and made games that were put on a good budget, games that were fun like Battle for Bikini Bottom, so much that even made a Rehydrated remake and even made a new original game entry that wasn't even a remake off of a existing game. In basic sense, any other propriety of Nickelodeon would just a low budget shovelware licensed game by THQ, there would be no sign of luck of any model being a slight good quality even and sense that some other creators who took the models like Jimmy Neutron and re-rigged him because of how poor the rigging was.

    What about the mechanics/gameplay? Well this ties back to how I first started explaining at the top of reason .4, I don't really think the gameplay would really be unique, you see the thing about a fnaf fangame is that it needs to have stuff in the game that makes it unique and honestly the stuff I was working on was really basic, literally tying down to the most basics mechanics and fnaf game would be on a format. Closing/Opening doors, lights, triggering sounds to lure the suits away, winding a music box. Literally everything I mentioned was already a thing established as a concept in a official or unofficial fnaf game. The music box mechanic (which is to keep Sandy away) is literally a copy of Puppet from Fnaf 2. Sandy (one of the spongebob characters) would really not be an interesting character and it just waste of another character being chosen instead of having more variety in other characters, her design was just blaw as well and just (again) cheesy with the blood shed. The concept of luring a character out of the office by playing a sound was going to be a mechanic given to Squidy (another SpongeBob character) was just a copy of fnati did with Disembodied (Headless Donald Duck head). Other mechanics is the just the most basic that any fnaf fangame does, doors and lights, heck fnati didn't even utilize that mechanic. There were probably more that I can bring that I probably forgot because I never thought through it more than a second, but pretty much this game overall gameplay would not really bring anything new to the table that spark a worth playthrough of the game (although I beg to dither since the fnaf fan community would gobble up anything, IULITMx would be a candidate).

    But who knows? I think there is quantity over quality in the fnaf fangame community. Too many games that just recycles the same mechanics that only the select few would end up succeeding. I might make a entirely new entry for a topic like this in the future, but for now I have made this section for this reason way to long now and I think it's now the best time to move on in this blog.

The unfortunate after math

Every since I canceled the project, it has gone pretty bleak and quite through out the years. As you may know, 2020 was a really bad year for everyone, and I'm sure your aware of that, you can relate to it in your very own way, even if you don't live in the United States, everyone in every country was a facing a crisis, what ever if they were facing financial struggles, or just was depressed from having to stay in their homes, or possibly losing a important person in your life because of the terrible virus that flood the planet back in the year. Everyone had there own forms of the feeling of being crushed in misery, I my self was not far from the ordinary, now the things that I was depressed about really didn't had anything to do with the fangame project (other than the realizing that fangames are illegal) but it was other things in my life. I would look back at the project time to time but never really think of anything of it. It wasn't until 2022 where I made an update about the game on the official Five Nights at Nick's wiki talking about how the waste of wiki's existence and for so making the wiki available for anyone to make fanmade unofficial content for the game, at this point in time I just wanted and hoped that other people will try and revive the concept in their own creative fashion.

Now let's be honest, it probably was a stupid decision to allow the flood gates to come in and just start turning the wiki to shit with "shitpost low effort characters" since let's be honest that probably was gonna be the best fate of the wiki when it comes to that stuff since most fan oc wikis end becoming that side effect. But what was I really going to do? I'm not a moderator and or person to has to always check on wikis everyday of my life. The best decision that people would say is to give someone a mod to delete any vandals and make sure people are following the rules. But the thing is that they could potential take over the wiki by demoting me from it, meaning I no longer have administrative access to anything on there, based on how Wiki Fandom's ranking system works. So I didn't really want to do so I just ended up having become that since the wiki's existence doesn't really have any other purpose. If only if I had the option to delete the wiki but I doubt Fandom will allow such a request, nor do I know how too. So if I would highly recommend not to really set foot to that wiki or try and make pages/contribute, it really is not worth your time there.

The attempt at revival

Now this section will probably cover everything up to modern day, 2023 to 2024.

Other than the shitty wiki itself, the people on there and whole general audience of the internet who looked fondly on the Fnan game wanted to try and revive the project. However, based off of what I seen through these past few months and what has occurred before. No one in anyway has a slim chance of every making this into an actual game. Reason is, is that most of the general audience of the community are underage kids that don't have any clue on how to make such a game just like a kid like me at the time had no idea what so ever at the age of 14, and heck the kids I have talked to or seen in the community are maybe even younger than my age when I came up with the project. Fact is, there are a few little peanut people who was "inspired" who wanted this game to be a possibility, various people who used Blender and contributed to the wiki trying to come up with there own characters for the project. People who are just repeating the same issue I have committed that I already explained in reason 2.

Now I will list the notable people that had "tried" to continue the canceled project, usernames are from Wiki Fandom because that's where all people where on.

It wasn't until later in October 2023, where I decided to make an archive download of all the models, textures, sounds, and even the original unfinished clickteam project file, all on Devaintart. For any one to use so that way it would make it better for people to continue and revive the project. Since then I would highly assume there had been many people using the models for their own content.

FNAF Archive Resource Download

However, in 2024, some guy by the name of GreenAnomaly on Gamejolt decided to try and revive the project. The project was named "Five Nights at Nick's Revival". He try hiring some people to make newer models for the game. SpongeBob got a redesign and was renamed "The Sewn", Jimmy Neutron also got redesigned and was being re-rigged. However, all hopes of the project being continued is either haltered or never happening due to major controversies regarding the person on the internet. I am not going to go into full detail since the majority of it revolves on other projects that are not on topic of Fnan, but basically he was begging for models and stealing them, he never got the new Jimmy Neutron model, and he was nagging a person for the Sewn model to a person who was sick at the time.

Here is a document by Mcdope/godpleashavemercy that he made for the full story of this guy. Green Anomaly Style

Conclusion

Now this has been a long blog and it took me 3 days to make. Like I said at the begging, I felt like I need to make this, especially since regarding my research of the drama of GreenAnomaly during in the middle of me writing this and also because for any future people who wants to know the history of this project and overall summary. Keep in mind this writing may have been changed a few times depending if I feel that I forgot some things or feel like I could improve the writing based off feedback.

So what is the overall conclusion? Honestly just a bit depressing that this game never worked out right, this game WAS going to be revived by GreenAnomaly but is now also going nowhere due to what I mentioned about him previously. Further segmenting it from possibly being an actual game until someone tries to attempt to pick up the project.

I always wanted to make a successful game, time and time again I made random projects that wouldn't go anywhere. The thing is, I can't promise myself that I can successfully finish a project and have it be good. The closest I have gotten to finishing something was my Fnati Remake on Gamejolt and a experience on Roblox Fnati Roleplay. But even then they weren't never really finished and were just prototypes in some way. Like I was originally going to make a huge update to the Roblox game but never came out.

If you ever were to question why, because I am a high-functioning autistic individual. I have problems putting myself on task and knowing how to learn things. I have struggled pretty much throughout my life and have various stories you should know about. I felt like I have wasted my teen years and I'm now a full grown living adult at the age of 20.

If I was not incompetent in modeling, coding, writing a basic story, Five Nights at Nick's may have been possible. There was some potential in the game but even then as I mentioned in this blog that it may not even make sense as a game. But it would of been interesting to see it's impact in comparison to the fnati fanbase in parallel terms.

One of the things that make my happy about finishing a piece of work is to see the fanbase's vision, to see fanart, memes, people discussing or mentioning the game. I always will dream of making history with a piece of work that I made, but the problem is of it being possible.

Now it is not something to be too ashamed of as this is a very common thing in the fnati community to have abandoned projects and even the fnaf fangame community in general. But I think it's at least good to note about something like this since sometimes a project's idea can seem very cool in concept.

Now I think this sums up the blog, if you ever have any questions, message me on the following platforms that will be linked in yellow.

How you should revive the game (Bonus)

Now this section is a little bonus, but if your reading this and you are willing or believe you can revive this fangame and actually have it succeed then consider reading this section.

I highly discourage doing all the things that I tried NOT doing or of what other people were doing to revive this project. Now while this section may be pro-revival it is also possibility anti-revival since although I am encouraging you how to revive the game doesn't mean that I think this game should be a thing, but if really think so otherwise and you have nuts and bolts to do so, it's all on you.

  1. First off, as I previously stated that this game story and world building is shit and easily because of the fact that Nickelodeon studios wasn't truly abandoned in a horror fashion it was just shut down because they moved there production to Los Angeles and was replaced by the Blue Man group. So if your gonna revive this game, try and find a different story, you could just make the excuse that it's an alternate reality but I wouldn't make it believable enough.

  2. Now about the characters, they are shit and I have already stated. Most of them would have to be scrapped such as "Photo-negative Patrick", make characters that are actually scary and NOT something cheesy. You are trying to take inspiration from Fnati, not rip it off. Try adding characters other Nickelodeon characters that are not from SpongeBob. If you find a model that is from The Models Resource and it is not rigged, try and rig it yourself or if you do not have the skill, get someone to rig it for you. If you try and find the best model you could and is not in good in quality and is lowpoly and stuff like that, not much you can do but at best you can try and make/commission a entirely new model for the game.

    Also, DO NOT end up being like people like GreenAnomaly, try and respect the person's time when getting them to help with your project. DO not beg or steal and always credit people. Also if your making these characters/locations or other stuff, have all info about everything private and don't release them on Wiki fandom or other Wiki websites. Sorry, it's just unprofessional.

  3. One of the things that make a game important is the gameplay itself, now you may go grab out your pitchforks for this and may make myself a fake person of the internet. But I barely even play fangames, I have may only played the first remasters of Fnati but is was only back in the day when I was very young but since then I really never dipped into playing them. Overall while liking the horror of everything I never really engaged into playing the games themself. So coming from a person who have not seen the variety or experience of various mechanics I have been given when playing fnati/fnaf fangames, I can only say what I have seen from watching videos. But the general things of what I'm saying if your going to have mechanics in this game they must be distinctive. Now that may be hard since a lot the fangames have already tackled stuff that may have already been utilize. And the game may be just be another copy of the same general mechanics of a fnaf fangame. But if it's gonna be that aspect just try and come up with one or two features that make the game unique. I myself could of come up with an idea or two that I could have not have back then. Like possibility using the idea of Nickelodeon's iconic slime and using to spray slime on any of the suits that may attack you in the game to lure them away from your office. Just try and used the many elements of Nickelodeon's brand as a mechanic.

  4. One of the things that I was doing that really sparked the idea of this project in the first place was the horror and creepypastas. Fnati wasn't created all just because they wanted to make Disney/Mickey scary, it was made because it was based of a fictionalized horror being the Abandoned by Disney creepypasta. Now I have already stated that this game really has no purpose to exist if it's really not actually based off a piece of horror since there really was not anything scary about Nickelodeon Studios being shut down. But there was at least creepypastas that I referenced was Squidward's Suicide which was integrated as character Suicide Squidward in the game, which true direct parallels to the Suicide Mouse creepypasta to being integrated the reference of the character in fnati. This is an example of clever inspiration between me drawing parallels between the two. The basic sense is if there is a piece of horror from Nickelodeon that feel should improve/strengthen the game then try and integrate in whatever shape or form